• Shreveporttimes.com • Weather • Calendar • Jobs • Cars • Real Estate • Apartments • Shopping • Classifieds • Dating

Wednesday, April 02, 2008

Shaken...Not Stirred!

2008 Sky Chair Waynette and Co-Chair Victoria Rios.
Faces in the crowd: Linda Goldsberry (left) , Marcy Everett and Ginger Clarke Williams.

Costumed to complement the Sky invitation: Tim Chance (left), Brown Haynie, Eric Gibson and Kenneth O'Brock

With costumes off, the quartet channel James Bond and perform a routine with a golden girl.

Sky volunteers: Jennifer Zanmiller (left), Elissa Larremore, Electra Churchill, Heidi Kallenberg, Tina Kallenberg

Photos by Paul L. Schuetze/The Times

How do you like your martini?

Well, Shreveport Regional Arts Council takes it: "Shaken...Not Stirred!"

Or so it does for for Christmas in the Sky 2008.

And, it is a tribute to 100 years of Ian Fleming’s "James Bond" series.

The every-other-year-fundraiser will be held Dec. 13 at Harrah’s Louisiana Downs, with The Downs and American Eagle/American Airlines, the presenting sponsors.

Officials promise that the tribute "combines the adventurous, sexy, top secret, spy stories with the infamous Sky ‘Twist’ to deliver an event with a license to thrill!" (SRAC officials deal in hyperbole, but they always deliver, too!)

The Sky Kickoff Party rumbled Tuesday at The New Capri.

It starred SRAC Chief Pam Atchison and Sky Chair Waynette Ballengee and Co-Chair Victoria Rios.

And what a party.

Actually, the theme fooled everyone, because the red postcard invitation featured Chinese characters, so everyone thought the theme would be Oriental and many of us dressed to complement it!
Were we surprised.

But, to explain that, "Confucious say..." was part of the announcement.

It was definitely a see-and-be-seen crowd.

Shreveport Mayor Cedric Glover was there as were Shreveport City Councilmen Monty Walford, Bryan Wooley, Michael Long and Joe Shyne — who wore all black, including a cowboy hat!

Also spotted in the elbow-to-elbow crowd: SRAC President Delton Harrison, SRAC Board Chair Sandi Kallenberg, artspace Chief/Sky Creative Director Linda Goldsberry; board member Bess Elder.
And Sky officials: Auction Chair Missie Soignier; Celebrity Chair Robin Covington; Design Chair Donna Poimboeuf; Auction Display Chair Heidi Kallenberg; Sponsorship Chair Karen McFerren; VIP Chair Karen Courtman.

And, many, many more.

Anyway, we’ve included some pictures, so you’ll get a feel for the gala fete.


Post a Comment

<< Home